The bible, Jehovah’s Witnesses and sexual abuse of children

Standard

My family were Jehovah’s Witnesses, a group of well known door to door preachers that sprung from the Freemason organization/cult.   Charles Taze Russell speaks of his ties with the Freemasons.   Most of the JWs will deny this fact or argue that it was in the past and is no longer relevant.   Regardless, their conspiracy of silence toward sexual predators and their victims is inexcusable.

charles taze russell 4

This morning I read an article called “Jehovah’s Witnesses destroyed evidence, Royal Commission hears”.

Of course, being raised in this cult, I knew how the JWs dealt with predators, having had my own experiences with the ‘elders’.

An excerpt of the article : “The Jehovah’s Witness Church in Australia hid allegations of child sexual abuse involving more than 1000 of its members over 60 years, a royal commission has heard.    The organisation, which has almost 70,000 active members in Australia, failed to report serious abuse claims to police in favour of internal investigations overseen by church elders.    “Of the 1,006 alleged perpetrators of child sexual abuse identified by the Jehovah’s Witness Church since 1950, not one was reported by the Church.” Angus Stewart SC.    The opening day of the hearing into the Jehovah’s Witnesses at the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse heard that detailed notes about sexual abuse allegations were destroyed in case they fell into the “wrong hands” and that “records were routinely destroyed “because we don’t want them to fall into the wrong hands” such as their wives or other members of the congregation.    The commission was told that since 1950, 401 members had been cast out or “disfellowshipped” over sex abuse allegations but more than half were later reinstated and some were promoted to senior positions within the church.”

My experience

I have read the bible many times, I have searched for answers since I was a child as to why the bible considered women to be of so little worth.   I remember running out of the church or “kingdom hall” as JWs like to call it, feeling very small and embarrassed, hearing what men who wrote the bible and their ‘god’ thought of women, and hearing that women had to be obedient to their husbands.  Hearing and reading in the bible myself that the ‘god’ of the bible condoned and ordered the rape and subsequent sex slavery of women.  I wondered as a little child how these intelligent women in the hall could tolerate being spoken about in this way.  It made me feel physically sick, so I would literally run to the toilets.

This situation, the way I felt and the rules in the JW church, meant that it was inevitable that I would lose my family to their beliefs, the brainwashing of 3 generations of JW’s on my father’s side, and 2 generations on my mother’s side, if I left.  The rules are that JW’s cannot associate (outside work) with non-believers, but especially anyone who opposed their cult.  People that oppose the cult are labelled “apostates”, and JW’s are constantly warned about apostates to the point that as a small child I was actually afraid of them, literally afraid.  That was until I found out that they were people who told the truth about the cult.

My parents were very worried about my rebellion and sent me to others to see if they could help me with my ‘problem’, but to no avail.  I was irredeemable. I believed that women deserved better than this.

I was never baptised, they could not convince me that their god was good, no matter how many times they told me he was.  I did ask for proof that their god was good but the proof they gave me, such as ‘god’ being victorious in battle and keeping the gold, slaves and the virgins for himself, proved to me that they had nothing!

I have lost nearly my entire family because of my ‘journey of self-discovery’.  I don’t want to think of them as bad people, they just do whatever they think their ‘god’ wants them to do, and to them whatever their god tells them to do is a good thing.  But in my belief, that is very dangerous thinking considering the cults rules and the contents of the bible.

This article shows how girls and women are treated by the ‘elders’ of the church when they tell of their experiences of sexual assault:

“Because the elders were all male and all were friends of my father’s, I was reluctant to speak to them about what had happened,” she said.

“I never felt as though the elders believed me. In fact they seemed incensed by what I was saying and took the allegations personally.

“At times it felt as though they were getting off on what I was telling them.”

“The woman, who cannot be named, said that one of the elders of her church branch in rural Queensland told her she could not report her father to the police because “you will bring reproach upon Jehovah’s name and you will be disfellowshipped”.

This lady’s experience is similar to mine.  I would like to make it known though that my father was good to me and has never behaved that way, but some men in the cult were sexual predators.  There was no one to turn to.  If you made a report your name was mud, they would consider you ‘bad association’ and I was actually labelled the “Jezebel Influence” for speaking out against a man.  The elder in my church would do nothing, but soon made it clear that he would make my life very difficult for speaking up.  He painted me as a liar.  The predator involved was about to be married to a young woman with two little girls, and still, the elder tried to paint a picture of me being a trouble maker.  I can relate to what the woman in this article is saying and I have seen it many times.  Yes, the “reproach on Jehovah’s name”, that was a big one.

Another predator by the name of David, who became an elder in the JW church in Nowra, NSW, had two (reported) complaints against him, but still nothing was done, and no families were warned..

I have sent these articles to a couple of JW’s I know,  one of the responses I received (from a man in the cult) was this: “I guess people only see what they want to see – and the misconduct of a limited few gives people unjustified ammunition against the Witnesses.”

“A limited few”?  1006 complaints that were NOT destroyed, but how many were? And how many others were silent and did not report out of fear of retribution?

The JW’s believe that anyone who sees a fault in their cult is working for ‘satan’.  There is very little compassion from this man, and no outrage at what these many women suffered, it is just politics, legislation, the JW’s legislation.  In fact I have seen in a JW book that their ‘god’ is called the “wise Legislator” (paragraph 13), with a capital ‘L’.

I believe there are many beautiful souls trapped in the JW cult, too scared to leave for fear of losing their families and their children, and brainwashed, literally.

What does the bible say?

Of course the bible, the book that JW’s pride themselves on following to the letter, is not exclusively a JW book, as we know.. it is the book of the Christian faith (and corresponds also in parts to Islam (Qur’an) and Judaism (Torah)), the best selling book on the planet.. strange really, don’t you think? That the most read book, most well known, hasn’t effected the world in a more positive way?

What is good and what is bad? I have found that some beliefs we may not associate with Christianity or kindness for that matter, are mentioned and praised in the bible, which is very disturbing; and to me these beliefs are key to understanding what the bible is.

Human sacrifice..

Human sacrifice is BAD…   Only evil people do that kind of thing, don’t they?  Note the story of Jesus;  ‘god’ sacrificing his son’s life, to pay for our ‘sins’.

Romans 3:25  (New Living Translation)

25 “For God presented Jesus as the sacrifice for sin. People are made right with God when they believe that Jesus sacrificed his life, shedding his blood. This sacrifice shows that God was being fair when he held back and did not punish those who sinned in times past

Anyone who has read the bible would be familiar with the story of ‘god’ telling Abraham to murder his own child, Isaac, as a sacrifice to him… well this is considered a wonderful thing by JW’s!   Abraham is praised in this cult as a righteous man, faithful to god!  What god?  What god would ask that of a father?? What the hell??!!

Genesis 22 (New Living Translation)

22 “Some time later, God tested Abraham’s faith. “Abraham!” God called.  “Yes,” he replied. “Here I am.”   Take your son, your only son—yes, Isaac, whom you love so much—and go to the land of Moriah. Go and sacrifice him as a burnt offering on one of the mountains, which I will show you.”

The next morning Abraham got up early. He saddled his donkey and took two of his servants with him, along with his son, Isaac. Then he chopped wood for a fire for a burnt offering and set out for the place God had told him about. On the third day of their journey, Abraham looked up and saw the place in the distance. “Stay here with the donkey,” Abraham told the servants. “The boy and I will travel a little farther. We will worship there, and then we will come right back.”

So Abraham placed the wood for the burnt offering on Isaac’s shoulders, while he himself carried the fire and the knife. As the two of them walked on together, Isaac turned to Abraham and said, “Father?”

“Yes, my son?” Abraham replied.

“We have the fire and the wood,” the boy said, “but where is the sheep for the burnt offering?”

God will provide a sheep for the burnt offering, my son,” Abraham answered. And they both walked on together.

When they arrived at the place where God had told him to go, Abraham built an altar and arranged the wood on it. Then he tied his son, Isaac, and laid him on the altar on top of the wood. 10 And Abraham picked up the knife to kill his son as a sacrifice. 11 At that moment the angel of the Lord called to him from heaven, “Abraham! Abraham!”

“Yes,” Abraham replied. “Here I am!”

12 “Don’t lay a hand on the boy!” the angel said. “Do not hurt him in any way, for now I know that you truly fear God. You have not withheld from me even your son, your only son.”

But wait, there’s more…

Child sacrifice 

2 Samuel 12: 13 & 14  (New Living Translation)

13 Then David confessed to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.”  Nathan replied, “Yes, but the Lord has forgiven you, and you won’t die for this sin. 14 Nevertheless, because you have shown utter contempt for the word of the Lord by doing this, your child will die.”

How is it reasonable to kill a child for his father’s sins?

More human sacrifice.. The story of Jephthah’s daughter…

Judges 11:29-37  (New Living Translation)

29 At that time the Spirit of the Lord came upon Jephthah, and he went throughout the land of Gilead and Manasseh, including Mizpah in Gilead, and from there he led an army against the Ammonites. 30 And Jephthah made a vow to the Lord. He said, “If you give me victory over the Ammonites, 31 I will give to the Lord whatever comes out of my house to meet me when I return in triumph. I will sacrifice it as a burnt offering.”

32 So Jephthah led his army against the Ammonites, and the Lord gave him victory. 33 He crushed the Ammonites, devastating about twenty towns from Aroer to an area near Minnith and as far away as Abel-keramim. In this way Israel defeated the Ammonites.

34 When Jephthah returned home to Mizpah, his daughter came out to meet him, playing on a tambourine and dancing for joy. She was his one and only child; he had no other sons or daughters. 35 When he saw her, he tore his clothes in anguish. “Oh, my daughter!” he cried out. “You have completely destroyed me! You’ve brought disaster on me! For I have made a vow to the Lord, and I cannot take it back.

36 And she said, “Father, if you have made a vow to the Lord, you must do to me what you have vowed, for the Lord has given you a great victory over your enemies, the Ammonites. 37 But first let me do this one thing: Let me go up and roam in the hills and weep with my friends for two months, because I will die a virgin.”

The sacrifice of a virgin… Yes, it’s all in your bible…

Rape

We know that rape and sex-slavery is bad, but what does the bible say about it?

Judges 21:10-23  (New Living Translation)

10 “So the assembly sent 12,000 of their best warriors to Jabesh-gilead with orders to kill everyone there, including women and children. 11 “This is what you are to do,” they said. “Completely destroy all the males and every woman who is not a virgin. 12 Among the residents of Jabesh-gilead they found 400 young virgins who had never slept with a man, and they brought them to the camp at Shiloh in the land of Canaan.

13 The Israelite assembly sent a peace delegation to the remaining people of Benjamin who were living at the rock of Rimmon. 14 Then the men of Benjamin returned to their homes, and the 400 women of Jabesh-gilead who had been spared were given to them as wives. But there were not enough women for all of them.

15 The people felt sorry for Benjamin because the Lord had made this gap among the tribes of Israel. 16 So the elders of the assembly asked, “How can we find wives for the few who remain, since the women of the tribe of Benjamin are dead? 17 There must be heirs for the survivors so that an entire tribe of Israel is not wiped out. 18 But we cannot give them our own daughters in marriage because we have sworn with a solemn oath that anyone who does this will fall under God’s curse.”

19 Then they thought of the annual festival of the Lord held in Shiloh, south of Lebonah and north of Bethel, along the east side of the road that goes from Bethel to Shechem. 20 They told the men of Benjamin who still needed wives, “Go and hide in the vineyards. 21 When you see the young women of Shiloh come out for their dances, rush out from the vineyards, and each of you can take one of them home to the land of Benjamin to be your wife! 22 And when their fathers and brothers come to us in protest, we will tell them, ‘Please be sympathetic. Let them have your daughters, for we didn’t find wives for all of them when we destroyed Jabesh-gilead. And you are not guilty of breaking the vow since you did not actually give your daughters to them in marriage.’”

23 So the men of Benjamin did as they were told. Each man caught one of the women as she danced in the celebration and carried her off to be his wife. They returned to their own land, and they rebuilt their towns and lived in them.

Those poor women.. this is heartbreaking..

Numbers 31:15 (New Living Translation)

15 Why have you let all the women live?” he demanded. 16 “These are the very ones who followed Balaam’s advice and caused the people of Israel to rebel against the Lord at Mount Peor. They are the ones who caused the plague to strike the Lord’s people. 17 So kill all the boys and all the women who have had intercourse with a man. 18 Only the young girls who are virgins may live; you may keep them for yourselves“.

Controversial isn’t it! But the truth remains, raping of children was condoned and even ordered in the bible.  Could you imagine the horror?

In the bible there are many, many rules; rules that pertain to sexual habits, menstruation and physical cleanliness, marrying and breeding, hair length and head coverings for women, jewellery, association with non-believers and those that worshipped other ‘gods’.  There are rules about animal and “blood sacrifices” to ‘god’, ‘atonement’, slave holding and rules for slaves, food, war, genocide and plunder; but there is no law or rule forbidding the raping of women and children.  In fact, the opposite is true.

I realize that my beliefs are controversial.  I make no apologies for this. It is just the truth. Just as it is in recorded history that the ‘prophet’ Muhammad had a ‘child bride’, (sex slave) named Aisha.   In any other dimension he would be called a paedophile!  In this insane world he is called a prophet!  He ‘married’ her when she was six years old and consummated the ‘marriage’, or had sex/raped her, when she was nine years old.

The JW’s have followed their organizational processes and policies to the letter, and they believe that by not reporting sexual predators they have done the right thing.  Silence.  To protect their ‘god’ Jehovah from reproach.  So the predatory behaviour has continued this way unabated and more and more children are put at risk, and it’s not only girls who have suffered.

They are not the only cult or ‘religion’ that has been found guilty of covering up sex crimes.. It seems to be rife in all religions.   And the worst part is, they’re actually waiting for ‘god’ to come and fix it.  So, they do nothing..

I leave you with another hero in the JW cult, Lot; a man who would give up his own daughters to rapists was praised as a righteous and faithful man of their ‘god’.

Genesis 19   (New Living Translation)

That evening the two angels came to the entrance of the city of Sodom. Lot was sitting there, and when he saw them, he stood up to meet them. Then he welcomed them and bowed with his face to the ground. “My lords,” he said, “come to my home to wash your feet, and be my guests for the night. You may then get up early in the morning and be on your way again.”

“Oh no,” they replied. “We’ll just spend the night out here in the city square.”

But Lot insisted, so at last they went home with him. Lot prepared a feast for them, complete with fresh bread made without yeast, and they ate. But before they retired for the night, all the men of Sodom, young and old, came from all over the city and surrounded the house. They shouted to Lot, “Where are the men who came to spend the night with you? Bring them out to us so we can have sex with them!”

So Lot stepped outside to talk to them, shutting the door behind him. “Please, my brothers,” he begged, “don’t do such a wicked thing. Look, I have two virgin daughters. Let me bring them out to you, and you can do with them as you wish. But please, leave these men alone, for they are my guests and are under my protection.”

The biblical patriarchal system has failed us.  Our daughters, sisters and mothers have suffered at the hands of dangerous ‘religious’ men who see women and children as no more than possessions.

Save the Planet! Smash the system!

 http://wol.jw.org/en/wol/d/r1/lp-e/1102008066?q=Legislator&p=par

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/jehovahs-witnesses-destroyed-evidence-royal-commission-hears-20150727-gilgk6.html

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/jehovahs-witnesses-did-not-report-1006-alleged-sex-abusers-to-police-royal-commission-told-20150727-gil1u7

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/jehovahs-witness-ministerial-servant-held-in-high-regard-by-congregation-while-assaulting-daughters/story-fni0cx12-1227460189924

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Numbers+31%3A7-18&version=NLT

Leave a Reply

